Computational Fabrication Seminar

Mission statement: Showcase exciting research results, inspire and motivate new research, and create a regular recurring opportunity for the community to meet and exchange ideas.

Format: Weekly 1 hour live session, which will rotate through three different time zones (Asia, Europe, America). If possible, these sessions will be recorded and made available for the parts of the community that cannot join live. Subsequently, the attendees and speakers will have the option to meet in Discord for a more informal, non-recorded discussion.

Speakers: Each live session will start with a general 10-20min opening talk, given by an expert from industry or a field related to computational fabrication, such as robotics, computer graphics, mechanical engineering, material science, HCI, applied math, design, or architecture. The motivational talks could for example provide new perspectives, highlight open challenges, inform about state-of-the-art techniques, reflect a personal view on the state of the field, point out research opportunities, and/or provide a vision. The motivational talk is followed by a more technical deep-dive on a current topic given by a talented young researcher.

Week 6: Lightweight and Porous Structure Modeling
   April 16th at 4:00am CEST   |   April 15th at 10:00pm EDT   |   April 16th at 10:00am HKT
Ligang Liu
University of Science and Technology of China
Lightweight Structure Modeling and Optimization
Lin Lu
Shandong University
Porous Structure Modeling
Week 7: Robotics
   April 21st at 2:00pm CEST   |   April 21st at 8:00am EDT   |   April 21st at 8:00pm HKT
Roi Poranne
ETH Zurich / University of Haifa
Shaping With Robots
Tao Du
MIT CSAIL
Differentiable Simulation Methods for Robotic Agent Design
Week 8: Textiles and Cloth
   April 30th at 7:00pm CEST   |   April 30th at 1:00pm EDT   |   May 1st at 1:00am HKT
Steve Marschner
Cornell University
To Be Announced
Vidya Narayanan
Carnegie Mellon University
To Be Announced
Week 9: Interactive User-driven Computational Design
   May 5th at 4:00am CEST   |   May 4th at 10:00pm EDT   |   May 5th at 10:00am HKT
Nobuyuki Umetani
The University of Tokyo
To Be Announced
Yuki Koyama
AIST
To Be Announced
Week 10: Microstructures
   May 13th at 5:00pm CEST   |   May 13th at 11:00am EDT   |   May 13th at 11:00pm HKT
Elissa Ross
Metafold
Additive Manufacturing for Metamaterial Challenges in Industry
Jonàs Martínez
INRIA
Metamaterials for Additive Manufacturing
Week 1: Computational Architecture
   March 11th at 12:00pm CET   |   March 11th at 6:00am EST   |   March 11th at 7:00pm HKT
Hélène Lombois-Burger
R&D Project Manager
LafargeHolcim Innovation Center
The Utmost Importance of Design in the Route to Market of Concrete 3D Printing: The Material Supplier View
Davide Pellis
EPFL
New Classes of Quad Meshes for Freeform Architecture



Week 2: Programming Languages for Design and Fabrication Applications
   March 18th at 6:00pm CET   |   March 18th at 1:00pm EDT   |   March 19th at 1:00am HKT
Karl Willis
Senior Research Manager
Autodesk Research
Learning Programs for Fabricating the Physical World
Kevin Ellis
Cornell University
Learning to Use and Extend Languages for Visual Programs
Week 3: Assembly-based Fabrication
   March 26th at 9:00am CET   |   March 26th at 4:00am EDT   |   March 26th at 4:00pm HKT
Chi-Wing Fu, Philip
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Computation Assembly for Fabrication: Overview
Ziqi Wang
EPFL
Computation Assembly for Fabrication: Shape Optimization
Week 4: Perception and Fabrication
   April 1st at 12:00pm CEST   |   April 1st at 6:00am EDT   |   April 1st at 6:00pm HKT
Piotr Didyk
USI Lugano
Importance of Perception for Digital Fabrication
Michal Piovarci
IST Austria
Perception-Aware Computational Fabrication
Week 5: Machine Learning and Engineering Design
   April 8th at 7:00pm CEST   |   April 8th at 1:00pm EDT   |   April 9th at 1:00am HKT
Faez Achmed
MIT
Design Synthesis from the Lens of Machine Learning
Mina Konaković Luković
MIT
Transforming Design and Fabrication with Computational Discovery